Skip to main content

Locals win July 4 triathlon

Lead Summary
Jason Berghorst

Participants in the annual Davis Lake Triathlon competed in warm weather Saturday morning.
The triathlon, which is always staged on the morning of July 4 at The Lake in southwest Luverne, included two different races.
The Minnow Race competitors completed a one-third mile kayak course, a two-mile bicycle ride and a one-mile run.
Participants in the Shark Race kayaked for one mile, rode bicycle for nine miles and ran 2 1/2 miles.
Both races included 18-and-under divisions for boys and girls and adult male and female divisions.
The Shark race also included men’s, women’s and coed team divisions.
In total, 28 individuals and six teams competed in the events.
The team races included all Rock County participants.
Team America of Krista Ahrendt of Luverne, Kraig Rust of Kenneth and Camden Janiszeski of Luverne won with a time of 52:00.
Team MZD came in second in the men’s division with a time of 55:04. Team members were Zach Nolz, Dalton Jacobsma and Matt Sandbulte, all of Luverne.
Third place in the division went to team Dad Bod. Tyson Facile, Aaron Altman and Travis Chapa, all of Luverne, finished in 61.
In the women’s division, the Sole Sisters were the sole competitors. The team, comprised of Caitlin Altman, Amy Chapa and Monica Facile, all of Luverne, finished in 63 minutes.
Jenna’s Allstars competed in the coed division. Jenna DeBates, Sarah DeBeer and Dave Duffy, all of Luverne, completed the race in 54:10.
Results for individual classes are below.
Minnow Race
Boys’ Division
Kade Oehlke         Sioux Falls     26:33
Ashton Altman     Luverne            27:00
Michael Ykema     Luverne          28:09
Girls’ Division
Klaire Oehlke       Sioux Falls     25:14
Anna Alvey           Hartford, SD    31:31
Kwyn Oehlke        Sioux Falls     31:44
Men’s Division
Karl Oehlke         Sioux Falls     28:31
Women’s Division
Jessica Alvey       Hartford, SD    31:32
Kelly Oehlke         Sioux Falls     43:37
Susan Flores-Diaz     St Paul                        49:37
Shark Race
Boys’ Division
Austin Bierma        Sioux Falls    65:03
Men’s Division
Jon Alvey              Hartford, SD    54:10
Jon Bottema          Corcoran         57:43
Robert Baker        Beaver Creek 58:44
Women’s Division
Haylee Spronk      Edgerton         61:57
Paula Gonnerman  Luverne         68:30
Maria Ratliff          Sioux Falls     78:42

You must log in to continue reading. Log in or subscribe today.