Skip to main content

Local Speedway hosts first races of the season

Lead Summary
Jason Berghorst, reporter

By Jason Berghorst
The Rock County Speedway hosted races for the first time this year on Thursday, June 4.
The event was also the first time that the Rock County Agricultural Society organized and promoted races at the local track.
Josh Klay, a member of the agricultural society, said the local board wanted to “get our race track going again” and to keep the organization and profits in the community.
“We were extremely pleased with how it all came together,” Klay said. “It went very well.”
Thursday night’s races included five different classes and attracted a total of 48 cars.
Drivers competed in pure stock, hobby stock, outlaw mini mods, supercharger, and Miniakota micro sprints classes.
The agricultural society plans to host a similar night of racing Thursday, July 30, during the Rock County Fair, according to Klay.
Ash Creek’s Tom Kracht placed first in the hobby stock class.
In the pure stock class, Nick Brady of Sioux Falls came in first with Luverne’s Greg VandeVelde and James Klosterbuer placing second and third respectively.
Pure Stock
1 Nick Brady, Sioux Falls
2 Greg VandeVelde, Luverne
3 James Klosterbuer, Luverne
6 Seth Miller, Luverne
8 Jessica Richters, Luverne
9 Steven Walker, Luverne
10 Chad Ver Steeg, Luverne
Hobby Stocks
1 Tom Kracht, Ash Creek
2 Jason Bradly, Sioux Falls
3 Nick Brady, Sioux Falls
Outlaw Mini Mods
1 Tyler Kaeter, St Cloud
2 Nathan Kilwine, Ellendale
3 Ryan Kromschroeder, Princeton
7 Ryan Walker, Luverne
1 Rick Egan, Sioux Falls
2 Joe Blake, Brandon
3 Josh Lien, Sioux Falls
Miniakota Micro Sprints
1 Brandon Buysse, Randall
2 Derek Steen, Lakefield
3 Chris Breen, Sioux Falls
16 Shane Fick, Luverne
17 Josh Peters, Adrian

You must log in to continue reading. Log in or subscribe today.