Band earns superior
H-BC Junior High School music student chosen for honor band

On March 19 the Hills-Beaver Creek High School band participated in the Large Group Contest along with seven other bands. They earned the second-highest score and one of only three superiors given by the judges.


H-BC Junior High School music student chosen for honor band

Ashley Esselink, daughter of Dave and Barb Esselink, has been selected for membership in the Minnesota Band Directors Association sixth- through eighth-grade honor band for the 2012-13 school year.

Her director at Hills-Beaver Creek is Dale Nelson.

Esselink was one of 82 students selected from 269 who auditioned this winter for a position in the group.

The participants will have the opportunity to work with some of the finest music educators in the state as their section coaches and will be conducted by Dr. Robert Ouren.

The students will rehearse with Ouren on Saturday, April 20, at Chanhassen High School and will then perform a concert at 2 p.m. on Sunday, April 21, in the auditorium of Chanhassen High School. 

Members of the band are (row four, left to right) Taylor Wingert, Marissa Kracht, Jenna Wilgenburg, Stuart Plimpton, (row three) Cole Angelo, Justin Kerkhove-Brandt, Carey Taubert, Braden Ellingson, Cooper Vaughn, Andrew Forshey, Anthony Ackerman, Kelli Esselink, Torrie Leuthold, Billy Horsman, (row two) Noah Holthaus, Tanner Paulsen, Thea Richards, Andrew Crawford, Austin Ehlers, Paige Leuthold, Trevor Paulsen, (row one) Amanda Crawford, Meghan Leuthold, Marissa Harsma, Payton Kelderman, Macie Fuerstenberg, Michaiah Luethje, Tessa Klarenbeek, Hattie Van Wyhe, Madison Fick and Kendra Doerr. Not pictured Brent Vanden Bussche.

E-mail this
Print this
You must be logged in to post a comment. Click here to log in.
Photos and Videos from the Star-Herald
Post your stories, blogs, photos, videos and events